Saltar al contenido

Integrated vocational training system

marzo 31, 2021
190308 niveles fp Integrated vocational training system

Vocational training training options

The vocational training offer must respond to the need to provide citizens with opportunities to improve their capacities and aptitudes throughout the entire life cycle. For this, in Spain vocational training constitutes a integrated system which includes two types of training offer:

Both training courses allow the acquisition and accreditation of professional skills that are collected and regulated by the same framework: the National System of Qualifications and Vocational Training.

FP levels

National System of Qualifications and Vocational Training

The National System of Qualifications and Vocational Training (SNCFP) It is regulated by Organic Law 5/2002, of June 19, which defines it as the set of actions that allows integrating the complete offer of professional training and the processes of accreditation of professional skills.

The objective of the SNCFP is to orient training to the qualification demands of organizations, facilitate the matching between supply and demand in the labor market, extend training throughout life, and promote the free movement of workers.

The instrument that allows the SNCFP to achieve its objective is the National Catalog of Professional Qualifications (CNCP), which orders the qualifications identified in the labor market and collects the training associated with them. The body in charge of keeping the Catalog updated is the National Institute of Qualifications (INCUAL).

The professional qualifications that make up the National Catalog of Professional Qualifications are ordered by professional families and by levels of professional qualification. There are currently 26 professional families and 5 qualification levels defined, of which the first 3 are applied to the qualifications listed in the National Catalog of Professional Qualifications.

Levels of professional qualification

The professional qualification levels They refer to the professional competence required by productive activities according to criteria of knowledge, initiative, autonomy, responsibility and complexity, among others, of the activity carried out. The qualifications included in the National Catalog of Professional Qualifications contemplate the first three levels (4 and 5 correspond to competences acquired in university studies).

The type of activities to which each level of professional competence refers is indicated below.

Level 1 Relatively simple activities corresponding to standardized processes, requiring the application of limited theoretical knowledge and practical skills.
Level 2 Well-determined professional activities with the ability to use their own instruments and techniques, related to an execution job that can be autonomous within the limits of said techniques. They require knowledge of the technical and scientific foundations of the activity and abilities to understand and apply the process.
Level 3 Professional activities that require mastery of various techniques and can be performed autonomously. They carry responsibility for coordinating and supervising technical and specialized work. They require an understanding of the technical and scientific foundations of such activities and an assessment of the process factors and their economic impact.

You can explore the training offer of Basic FP, intermediate level training cycles (CFGM), higher level training cycles (CFGS) and Certificates of Professionalism.